Looking Back

Now is the time that many people are making New Year’s Resolutions that they are likely to give up on in the first few weeks of the new year. Last year I set manageable goals, not unrealistic or unattainable resolutions. So, as we enter 2013 I feel it’s a good time to review how I did on my 2012 goals and take a look at what I would like to conquer in 2013.

2012: A Year in Review

Fitness:

Run 500 miles. I came really close on this one. The final tally was 455 miles. All in all I’m quite proud of this accomplishment. It’s more than a 30% increase over 2011 when I ran 340 miles.

Run an entire Half Marathon. Another goal where I came close, but didn’t quite make it. In April I ran the Earth Day Half Marathon (my only half marathon in 2012). I felt the strongest of any of the three halfs I’ve run to date, but somewhere between mile 9 and 10 I started to fade. I ended up doing some walking, but finished strong and still finished with a personal best — Yay me! — of 2:26:06, ten minutes faster than my previous fastest time.

Personal/Professional:

Get accepted into the Learning Technologies PhD program at the University of Minnesota. I have completed my first semester in the Learning Technologies PhD program. And better than just completing one semester, I received an ‘A’ in all three of my classes. Great start if I do say so myself.

Receive an assistantship to fund my degree. I actually received two assistantships that added up to full-time support. I started in May 2012 as a Research Assistant on a great project looking at the use of digital technologies in urban Minneapolis-St. Paul high schools, library programs, and community based programs. The other was that of a Media Lab assistant, which was boring as far as a job, but it gave me ample time to keep up on my studies. Spring semester I will be giving up the media lab assistant position and will instead be teaching an online class, which I really looking forward to. And, unrelated to the University of Minnesota, I will also be teaching as an adjunct instructor at the Minnesota School of Business in St. Cloud in the area of web design and graphic design. So, while it’s not utilizing my new skills in Learning Technologies, it is making great use of my nearly 20 years of experience, and best of all I get to teach two face-to-face classes. It’s going to be quite a workload between my coursework, teaching, and the research project. I’m hoping it’s not too much, but I usually do better when I’m under pressure.

Submit an article for publication. While I did not submit an article for publication, I did submit a proposal to present at a conference and was accepted. I presented at my first conference, the Ubiquitous Learning Conference, in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois in October. I was also fortunate in receiving a Graduate Scholar Award that paid for my registration. It not only helped cover some of my costs, but it afforded me a great opportunity to network and meet a bunch of great people. And, right at the end of 2012 I submitted another proposal to present at a conference. This time it is for the EdMedia Conference, which, if accepted will be this June in Victoria, B.C., Canada.

There’s the recap of 2012. Stay tuned for my next installment, “Looking Forward,” where I figure out what I want to accomplish in 2013.

How did you do when it came to your 2012 New Year’s Resolutions or Goals? I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

