A brief goal update

It’s now the middle of February, still only a small step into the new year, but I felt a little update was in order.

I have met one of my professional goals already—I have been officially accepted into the Learning Technologies PhD program at the University of Minnesota. I will start classes Fall 2012. I’m still waiting to hear if I will receive an assistantship or not. Patience is a virtue. In the meanwhile I’ve contacted my new advisor and will be connecting with her again in a month or two to discuss my curriculum and if any assistantships have come available.

I have partially met another goal. While I am not yet at the point of submitting anything for publication, I have had my proposal accepted to present my paper at the Ubiquitous Learning Conference in October. It will be my first academic conference – outside of the Student Research Colloquium at St. Cloud State – where I will be presenting to peers. It’s pretty cool. As a presented I am also invited to submit my paper for publication to the related journal.

As to my fitness goals, I’m doing well on that front also. A month and a half into the year and I already have about 90 miles in. At this rate I will easily achieve my goal of 500 miles for the year. This weekend is my first race of the year – a 10K which should be a piece of cake, right?

How are you doing on your goals for 2012?

 

Leave a Reply

