Stepping Outside My Comfort Zone

Girls on the RunIt’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything. I could make up all sorts of crazy excuses (and most of them would be true), but that’s neither here nor there. I started a new job about 2 months ago that has required me to do some crazy commuting. I live in southern Minnesota during the week and commute about 2.5 hours home on Fridays, stay the weekend, and then do the same thing on Sunday, but in reverse. Needless to say my life has been a bit hectic and topsy-turvy. I’ll save that for another post as it (along with the summer heat) has been wreaking havoc on my training schedule.

What I wanted to address in this post is something I’m quite proud of myself for doing. One of my resolutions this year was to try new things and not just stick to the same humdrum routines. Mainly I was thinking about venturing to the Twin Cities to try new places to eat and what other sorts of entertainment venues I could partake in. But, since starting my job in Mankato I’ve been feeling a bit empowered – don’t know why, but I’m enjoying it. I was looking for some volunteer opportunities and came across a great program through the Mankato YWCA (which I also joined).

Girls on the Run/Girls on Track is a 10-12 week after school program for young girls (GOTR is grades 3-5 and GOT is grades 6-8) that blends strong positive messages with exercise. The curriculum interweaves discussions about self esteem, relationships, and community all while training for a 5K that is the capstone to the season. The 5K at the end is non-competitive and is a run/walk event – the goal is simply to finish. This fits so well with my attitude towards exercise – celebrate the small victories along the way.

I went through coaches training last night and the program starts next week, so stay tuned for more updates. I’ve never done anything like this so I’m a bit nervous, but being a strong, professional woman that does not follow the normal stereotypes I feel I will be a great role model. I look forward to working with these girls and preparing them (even if in some small way) for what life throws at them.

Leave a Reply

