I’m officially a hard core runner

Get in Gear 10K

My Dad walked out to the 5 mile mark. That's me waving.


My first 10K (ever, I think) was the April 24th Get in Gear run in Minneapolis. Get in Gear offers a 5K, 10K, and a half marathon. One word describes the morning of the run: rain. It was rain, rain, and more rain. I never pictured myself as the type of person that exercises whatever the conditions, but there I was at 9:00 am running in the 50 degree temperatures, in the rain. This not only confirmed to myself I must be a little nuts, but that I am a true runner. Despite the wet, the run itself was on a beautiful route. It started and ended in Minnehaha Park, followed the Mississippi river the entire way (crossing two bridges), and included an old and regal neighborhood filled with gorgeous homes.

My day started at 5:30 in the morning—way too early if you ask me—we needed to leave around 6:30 in order to arrive at the race around 8:00. Fortunately a friend’s husband was kind enough to pick up my packet the night before and my husband, Trent, picked it up from their house. A fancy bit of coordination, but it meant we actually got to sleep in, believe it or not.

Trent and my parents came to support me and by some crazy fluke we managed to park remarkably close to each other and they arrived only a couple minutes before us. This was quite the accomplishment considering Get in Gear hosts 8,500 runners, not to mention all of the volunteers and spectators. I was incredibly grateful that they were there to cheer me on, but I think they must be somewhat crazier than me to stand in the rain while I’m off running for an hour.

After the finish of the Get in Gear

Wet, but happy after the race

The 10K alone had over 3600 runners, roughly triple the number in my first run, the Earth Day 5K. When I lined up at the starting line I thought I positioned myself a fair distance back, since I know I’m a slow, but steady runner. I was closer to the front of the pack than I realized so I spent the first 3 to 4 miles feeling like I was being passed by almost everyone and getting lost in the dust. The reality of the event was I finished in the middle of the pack and managed to keep my pace. I finished in 1:06:42, which averaged 10:44 miles.

All-in-all I finished wet, but very happy and with an amazing sense of accomplishment.

3 thoughts on “I’m officially a hard core runner

  1. I just discovered your blog and I love it. I am in to my third year of running and enjoy reading about your experiences. My first 10k sounds similar to yours with the rain and cool temperature. I felt as if I was a hard core runner too, running in the rain like that! Keep posting-I wil keep reading

  2. Thank you for your interest! Doesn’t running in inclement weather makes you feel like you can accomplish anything you put your mind to?

Leave a Reply

