2011 — Bring it on

Wow, have I been delinquent about keeping this up-to-date, but since a new year is upon us it seems like a good time to jump back in.  Good news is, even though I haven’t been updating this as much as I would like, I have continued with my running and exercising (albeit a bit lax during the holidays). It is also that time of year, the time where I set some new goals, or renew some of my old ones.

My first two goals really should be looked at as two parts of the same thing as they both have to do with my physical fitness. This two-part goal is really a continuation of my primary goal last year. It is not because I wasn’t successful or didn’t complete it. In fact it is quite the opposite. I  began a running regimen and was able to stick to it and lost 25 pounds.

Goal 1a – Run at least 2 half marathons: I ran two last year and want to keep this up. However, this year I want to actually RUN the entire distance of at least one of them. In my first race the heat got to me and well, it was my first race and I ended up walking parts of it. I was feeling ready to conquer my second race, but plantar fasciitis got the best of me and I limped along much of the last 5 miles or so.

The first race I’m shooting for is the St. Cloud Earth Day Half Marathon. It’ll be great to come full circle – this was my first race last year, and it was the 5K. Coming back to do a half will feel very satisfying. As to the second, I’m not sure yet.

Goal 1b – Lose 15 pounds: I successfully dropped 25 pounds in 2010 and now I want to push myself and tackle those last 15 pounds. To get there I will have to get back to journaling my food intake and my exercise. It worked before, it will work again.

Goal 2 – Run 900 miles: And for you wiseguys out there, no, that doesn’t mean all at one time. I’ve never logged my miles over the course of a year before, but I think this is doable if I plan on training for two half marathons. This one may kick me in the butt, or it may not. Time will tell.

Goal 3 – Try at least one new recipe a month: One recipe may not sound like much, but with my being home only on weekends it might be difficult to do it more often. And, you have to start somewhere, right? The recipes don’t have to be gourmet or fancy, simply something that I haven’t tried before. I figure it might be a good way to add some new staples into our dinner repertoire.

Goal 4 – Graduate!: This may seem like an easy thing to say, but I really am looking at this as a real possibility in the Spring of 2011. My thesis topic is approved, I’m working on getting IRB approval and some grant money, and I’ve talked with the Statistics Center. It’ll be a lot of work and forcing myself to keep on task, but it is doable.

So, there it is. What are your goals for the new year?

One thought on “2011 — Bring it on

Leave a Reply

